More myth busting

4 07 2023

Quite amazing how many medics are coming out of the woodwork spruiking low carb eating. I’m not keen to use the word diet anymore because diets are associated with weight loss through calories restriction. The keto/carnivore lifestyle isn’t strictly about losing weight (I’ve now lost twelve kilos), that’s an added bonus as far as I am concerned. The real reason is to get healthy… Anyhow, this guy has many interesting things to say, here’s one I like…

On a much lighter note, here’s my favourite car journalist going off on a tangent I never expected. Language warning, but it’s very very good and funny to boot… John doesn’t understand how you can’t exercise your way out of a bad diet, but his message is still more than valid..


Actions

Information

4 responses

5 07 2023
Monte John Latham

Mate, thought of you : https://www.onesmalltown.org/

5 07 2023
Nuckin Futz

Ha – this clown is talking out of his arse! I can’t even… look up the ‘Blue zones’, the healthiest, most long lived populations on earth, all of them eating predominately plant based diets. Sad to say it, but you’ve lost the plot with this low carb diet (sorry, “lifestyle”) stuff Mike. For anybody interested in evidence based eating, check out nutritionfacts.org.

6 07 2023
mikestasse

For me, the evidence is so clear….. I recently had to go to hospital to finally investigate my urinary problems. It turns out that I have shrunk my prostate through diet, the urologist said it was much too small to cause me problems.

Then he dug around inside my bladder looking for cancer. There wasn’t any! Great news… The result of the biopsy show something nobody’s seen before. The thickening of my bladder wall wasn’t caused by cancer it was almost certainly dead cells. My no carb diet and intermittent fasting killed it. Just like I had predicted and nobody believed me…

But it gets more interesting. By the time I woke up from anaesthesia I hadn’t eaten anything in 36 hours and was feeling a bit peckish. I was offered a quiche and an array of packaged and obviously sweetened fruit and jellies and other crap. I scraped the egg and mushrooms out of the quiche casing and ignored everything else. Then my wife insisted on having dinner at the hotel where we stayed. The only thing remotely keto was a venison pie with a side of veggies… French beans, baby carrots and creamy pea mash. It was delicious, but the pie was full of gravy which almost certainly contained wheat flour thickening.

Next day I had a really serious case of diverticulitis. Clogged up with fibre and unable to pass anything but mucous and in great pain….

That was the last straw. I’ve now decided to go full carnivore. Don’t talk to me about evidence….

6 07 2023
mikestasse

Furthermore, your fabulous blue zones may well be based on faulty science….

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/blue-zones-diet-speculation-based-on-misinformation/

Leave a comment