Before civilization on this planet eventually collapses, it will go stark-raving mad

9 04 2015

“Folks, “all’s changed, changed utterly. A terrible beauty has been born.” Those are the words written by an Irish poet William Butler Yeats about the Easter Rising in 1916 in Ireland. They were meant to describe the status of the circumstance in Ireland at that time. But I would argue that in recent years, they better describe the world as we see it today because all has changed. The world has changed. There’s been an incredible diffusion of power within states and among states that has led to greater instability.”

Utopia

Mad World
“Whom the gods would destroy, they first make mad.” – by Prometheus, in the Masque of Pandora (1875) by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
April 2015CIVILIZATIONThe enormous cognitive dissonance between our growing awareness of our civilization’s accelerating collapse, and the ‘news’ in the media and the subjects of most public discourse, continues to baffle me. Though I suspect it shouldn’t. We are all slow learners, preoccupied with the needs of the moment, with a preference for reassurance over truth. I often find myself, these days, at social and other events, at a loss for words, not saying anything, as a result. It’s as if I speak an utterly different language from the people I meet in my day-to-day life, so what’s the point of saying anything? Perhaps this is Gaia’s way of teaching me patience. I continue to vacillate back and forth all the way from the humanist…

View original post 886 more words

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2015
Don

“Before civilization on this planet eventually collapses, it will go stark-raving mad”

It is now collapsing. It has already gone stark raving mad and I can see the collapse happening, albeit in slow motion now, but no doubt it will increase like a zorba dance.

The collapse may be happening more slowly in Oz but I can see it happening here.

Leave a Reply

