An appeal to young Aussies

5 05 2014

The Sniper

The Sniper*

Australia is in trouble. Young Australians will have to save it, if you decide it needs saving.

Australia was a democracy. It has slowly become a Corporatocracy: government by Big Business. You will have to change that, if you think it is a bad thing. I will not tell you what to think.

You could argue that Australia is still a democracy. Australians vote in free and fair elections to decide who will run things until the next election.

You could argue that Australia believes in the principle of a free Press (or news media generally). The British parliament, the model for ours, recognised the Press as the Fourth Estate, granting it the right to sit in the parliament and report on the affairs of government.

You could argue that nothing has changed and all is sweet in the land of Oz. You could look more closely, dig…

View original post 981 more words

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 05 2014
Graham Palmer

Interestingly I was watching Q&A being disrupted by students protesting about the corporatisation of university education as I read the blog. The young on this occasion were at least were taking a stand albeit being accused of being undemocratic by the host Tony Jones.

5 05 2014
Barry Tucker

I addressed my blog to young people Graham Palmer because I have little faith that the older people have the will, the ability or the fresh thinking to bring about the changes that are needed.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

6 05 2014
mikestasse

Of course Barry, you can’t really generalise like that. It’s obviously to do with my circles of friends (who are mostly baby boomers) but we all have “the ability or the fresh thinking to bring about the changes that are needed”!

Then of course there are my neighbours who are so well off they take their effluence for granted, no matter how much I tell them their days are numbered… They want their plush lives to continue as is and refuse to change anything.

6 05 2014
Don

Barry,
I predate baby boomers at 72, so I suppose that puts me in the group of old people in whom you have little faith. From my point of view there are too few of my generation who “have the will, the ability or the fresh thinking to bring about the changes that are needed.” I, and some of my friends do what we can, but there are too few of us.

But also there too few young people who are not distracted by the gadgets and daily living to spare the time to “bring about the changes that are needed.” I meet some but I am afraid they’re not in sufficient numbers.

I suspect the system will fall over by the weight of its flaws but the results will not be pretty.

Leave a Reply

