Dick Smith for PM…?

11 10 2013

You have to admire Dick Smith for his stance on growth.  Notwithstanding the disappointing ABC TV Program on Peak Oil, he is the only person of note (apart from perhaps Kelvin Thomson) who consistently speaks against growth, economic and population….  here he is asking Rupert Murdoch to return to Australia and become our greatest philanthropist.  Dick tells his audience how we can have a great economy without perpetual growth……

I wonder if, were he ever to be approached to enter politics for the SPP (Stable Population Party), he would accept standing?  Dick even mentions limits of growth (sic) in this speech……  could we do worse than Dick for PM?  Well, just look at the current moron in charge…….

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 10 2013
David

Ah yes! Couldnt agree more. Why is it that your mention of “…Morons in charge” brings back that old saying to my mind about cream and crap both rising to the surface? We seem to have a country that is more like an asshole factory, wherever I turn there seems to be another asshole in charge! (I’d better not try for politics myself!)

11 10 2013
mikestasse

With such a gift of the gab David, maybe you SHOULD have a go!

12 10 2013
seawork

My only problem with Dick Smith is his promoting of nuclear power.
I am sorry but as far as I am concerned it is completely off the radar and should be shunned totally.

12 10 2013
mikestasse

I agree with you…… but is anyone prefect? Give me five minutes with Dick, and I would turn him around, he is not stupid, just misinformed….

12 10 2013
mikestasse

Actually, I’d REALLY like to know who you would like as PM, even if as completely impossible as putting Dick there is……

12 10 2013
seawork

Maybe Bob Brown could be persuaded to come out of retirement?

12 10 2013
mikestasse

I can tell you now, Bob would NOT go or speak against population growth, or growth period. I was in the Greens for many years, and left in disgust because of this……. the Greens are all for “sustainable growth” or “green growth”. They just do NOT get it….

12 10 2013
seawork

I did not say he would be perfect…..
I would be the only one for that.

12 10 2013
mikestasse

The point I’m trying to make is that POPULATION is a far more important concern than gay marriage or asylum seekers. And I won’t vote for them again until they adopt SPP’s policies…..

12 10 2013
seawork

I have since then watched Dicks speech and I have to agree he speaks well and I am in agreement with him.
OK we will put him in as PM and never mind what rabbet says.
Well lets face ANYONE would be better.

Leave a Reply

