Fostering prosperity without growth

3 09 2013

I recently got a new car radio for the ute, a kind of Father’s day present….. and it has this facility for playing MP3 files off memory sticks or SD cards instead of playing CDs.

Tim Jackson

I’m not really one for downloading gigabytes of pirated music, but prefer to listen to podcasts like the one I just posted featuring David Suzuki and Jeff Rubin.  If I can work out how to save the file (haven’t managed it yet with that CBC file above..) I’ll do so such that it allows me to listen to it more than once thus saving my precious bandwidth.

One such file that was on my computer and which I can now listen to on my new toy in the car is a brilliant lecture by Tim Jackson, Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey and the Economics Commissioner at the UK Sustainable Development Commission.

Even though it is now three years old, it is as applicable today as it ever was.  Jackson speaks clearly and logically and is a pleasure to listen to.  Talks like this should be compulsory school curriculum in my opinion….

Enjoy….

LISTEN

Actions

Information

8 responses

4 09 2013
Dan

Get the DownloadHelper add-on for Firefox (probably lots of alternatives too) – you can use it to grab a lot of (not all) audio and video like this.

4 09 2013
mikestasse

I have that…… won’t work with this one.

4 09 2013
Dan

Strange – I downloaded the audio using it (listening to it right now).

4 09 2013
Graham Palmer

To understand how exponential growth is an impossible concept check out the most important video you will ever see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-QA2rkpBSY

4 09 2013
gbell12

Right-click save this, Mike:
[audio src="http://podcast.cbc.ca/mp3/podcasts/ideas_20130313_98658.mp3" /]

(it was on another page)

4 09 2013
mikestasse

I’ve got that one……. it’s the Suzuki / Rubin podcast I can’t seem to be able to save…

4 09 2013
Rapideffect

I’ve got a few documentaries that might interest you Mike and/or your readers.

Home

David Suzuki – An elder’s vision of for our sustainable future

Collapse – Michael Ruppert

There’s No Tomorrow

The Power of Community – How Cuba Survived Peak Oil

6 09 2013
Dan

Thanks for those.

Leave a Reply

