My winter of discontent

17 08 2013

Where’s my winter?  I mean seriously, who has stolen my winter….?  Will whoever nicked it please bring it back..?  It’s the only time of year I can have some fun around here…..

August in South East Queensland is never really cold, but 30º?  Yes, it was that warm two days ago, and it’s been 26º plus all week, and I have to open all the windows in the house when the AGA is going, and our combined hot water systems are chucking out excess heat like there’s no tomorrow…… and at least the solar panels are pumping I guess, but I’ve just been out in the garden for the last couple of hours planting the last of my brassicas (got cauliflowers and broccoli and cabbages and kale coming on strong right now..) and what comes out of the blue?  CABBAGE MOTHS!  Cabbage moths in August..?  Yessir, they’re not supposed to appear until late September or some time in October, but here they are, two months early……..

Normally at this time of the year (Ekka time.. which finishes today), Queenslanders are running around in jumpers and coats to fight the cold westerly winds that are the norm.  And here in Cooran, we can expect half a dozen frosts.  Which presumably kill any cabbage moth caterpillars, and which has not happened yet.  We even had the odd mosquito the other day…

And that’s not all…..  all our fruit trees are in flower.  The bees are out in full strength, and I’ll have to don the bee suit soon just to make sure they’re not overflowing with honey and about to swarm…  in AUGUST?

But there’s no climate change say the skeptics deniers.  Australia has already had its hottest July on record, surely August will match it.  And what’s Summer going to be like if winter’s like this now?

Are there any Tasmanians out there who’d like to swap house over Summer…..?  Seriously, I mean it.  We’ve got great beaches here….

I think I’ll make some ice cream this afternoon.  And I must have a copy of Hot August Night somewhere.  Yeah I know…  I’m showing my age again…

UPDATE

Thursday August 22.  Our first frost…….  Winter has finally arrived, and it’s only a couple of months late.  Not a huge frost by any standards, not even a sub tropical one, but I am surprised at how much ice is on the ute’s windscreen.  With any luck, it’ll kill the cabbage moths or any eggs they might’ve already laid.  We may even be in for a week of this great weather according to the weather bureau.

Actions

Information

14 responses

17 08 2013
robertscribbler

Wow. 30 C?

17 08 2013
mikestasse

Yes……. not 30F!

17 08 2013
robertscribbler

86F. I just can’t believe it’s that hot there in the middle of winter. The season is wounded and in the process of going down.

17 08 2013
mikestasse

YOU can’t believe it…………….

17 08 2013
robertscribbler

Ha!

I find myself having context disorientation now and then, especially after hearing all the reports.

So is this year warmer or cooler than last. Are we in for another record down under?

17 08 2013
mikestasse

I guess we won’t know until it’s over…… but it’s looking like a record hot year from where I sit, after that humungous summer heatwave early this year, and now this…

17 08 2013
len gardener

yep dramatise it hey mike I live up the drier northern end of the sunny coast, we didn’t frizzle in a heat wave, yep it was hot up until end of January when rain came but they call anything a heat wave now, used to have to be over 39c in the late 90’s then only 2 or 3 days of true heat wave, in an uncomfortable standard house. they called some of our days heat waves through winter talk about fear hype.

but my reckoning we will get those terrible days like Victoria and south Australia and those terrible bushfires, all caused by corporate greed when they clear screening habitat between us and the desert, go figure hey. they are greedily clearing our brigalow belt so same end for us.

we have comfy home no AC no heating, so bring it on.

len

17 08 2013
mikestasse

I call a heatwave two straight months over 32C with 3 or 4 days over 40….

I don’t care (well… I do..) that it’s cool inside our house in those temperatures when all the work I need to do is outside in the heat. So where do you live Len?

17 08 2013
len gardener

g’day mike,

in reality 32c is not a heatwave even if it goes for multiple days, it never was before this carbon caused climate change guffaw came along. in 95 there abouts we lived north bayside and a heat wave then by BOM definition was from 38 or 39 up particularly into the 40 – 41’s.

now for the fear hype factor they say that in winter if the temp should only be 20 and it is 24 that is a heat wave, they now call any day a heat wave if it is above what is supposed to be the norm. 32 in summer is summer nothing more nothing less, our home is aspected app’ 5 degrees west of magnetic north(looking for true north) the land is north east aspect so all give comfort in a modest6X9m granny flat cottage, started life s a shed plan.

we live at glenwood, for a decade now has been lassoed into the sunshine coast region.

for me I have health issues and where I could happily work outside all day winter or summer, I now can’t take the sun, also heat affects me differently as my body thermostat runs hot, why I need a pedestal fan for comfort. downside of course can only get stuff done outside before the sun is up proper and after it is a long way down, and as you would know summer arvo’s a long and hot but not as bad as if we were on a westerns aspect.

anyhow mike for now have a good one

len

17 08 2013
mikestasse

A heatwave is when temperature is consistently above normal for, I don’t know, a week? When it’s 2+ degrees above normal for two months, THAT’s a heatwave of epic proportion actually……. What’s happening now, 25+ for over a week in mid winter is a heatwave too, I don’t give a toss what you think.

The “official” definition (from Wikipedia) is: The definition recommended by the World Meteorological Organization is when the daily maximum temperature of more than five consecutive days exceeds the average maximum temperature by 5 °C (9 °F), the normal period being 1961–1990.

Glenwood now called “Sunshine Coast”? That’s a bit of a joke….! I consider Cooran to barely scrape in… at least we’re a half hour drive to Noosa!

Sounds like with your health issues similar to mine, you should contemplate moving to Tassie too…. mind you selling anything in Glenwood might be a challenge….

17 08 2013
len gardener

yeh whatever mike you are seeming to being led.

it was never that way before the fear hype.

glenwood may be a joke to you but like when I told you about the gnome kneeling before the pres’ you missed it as you did when SSC northern boundary was moved to include glenwood, so have a good laugh. to think you have the power to delete my posts.

8 or so years ago shooting reported on sunshine coast, then it started glenwood SSC there was a shooting.

reckon your are good bloke though somewhat misguided and out of touch. that SSC boundry includes gympie etc.,. etc,.,.

the right wisdom is knowledge.

len

17 08 2013
mikestasse

Len…….. you REALLY are full of bullshit. The [current] SSC stops HERE…. well, about 4km along the road from here to Gympie. And at the end of the year, we get our Noosa Council back. And Glenwood sure isn’t part of it!

You’re the one who’s misguided actually, at least sme of the time. Had another look at your website, and it’s riddled with errors like PVs being no more than 87% efficient (the best ones on the market today are 21%, and most are around the 17%..)

You’re out of your depth here. Instead of arguing with us, you should learn some things. Just because you’ve done SOME good stuff doesn’t mean you know it all…..

17 08 2013
Shirley Goodbar

It’s nice to know a little more about you, Mike. We think along the same lines and I enjoy your posts. I’ve been complaining to my relatives in Alaska about our non-winter. I’m afraid to think what our NSW summer may be. I got onto your site via The Conversation

17 08 2013
mikestasse

Are you “Shirley Birney” giving that mining moron a hard time on the conversation…? I’ve really enjoyed THAT exchange,,!

Leave a Reply

