Our first Wwoofers

1 05 2013
Image

Jo in finished garden bed

Out of the blue last week, we got a phone call from two young women who had been let down by a wwoof host who could no longer take them…..  and since I have now finished a couple of bedrooms and hence had room for them, we of course accepted.

Jo and Miriam, two intelligent and well educated English sisters arrived in Cooran, and changed our lives for almost a week.  I reckon they’ve now set the bar pretty high for any more wwoofers coming this way, and I thank them for lifting my spirits.

They certainly brought home to me the importance and value of youth…  I’d like just half the energy they expended here back for myself!  As I write this and think back on just how much they did for us, it all feels amazing…

Image

Miriam taking well deserved break

They raked out the goat sheds and barrowed the manure back up to the Zone 1 garden, weeded, prepared, composted, and mulched six garden beds and planted all my seedlings in them… and the three of us drove the ute to Gympie to get another load of firewood for the cold weather that surely must arrive soon….. and they unloaded the ton of wood and stacked it behind the AGA for me too.  I can’t be thankful enough…..

In the process of clearing the decks in the veggie patch, they uncovered the motherlode of these weird cucumbers that started growing here all by themselves, and taking over like a triffid… Image

Image

Cucumis Metuliferus

I have no idea where they came from, I certainly never planted them.  Research uncovered that they are African in origin, and may well be the ancestor of all cucumbers.  Whilst they are fine to eat, they are very seedy, and get a bit chewy when older and bigger.  And those spikes….!  Peeling these is essential (the spikes would kill you!) and great care (gloves?) needed when doing so.

Anyhow, our winter garden is well underway, I took the opportunity of cleared beds to plant my garlic, and this year I went berserk with leeks too.  The girls planted beetroots, peas, beans, spinach, broccoli, cabbages, tat-soi, spring onions, and I’m sure I’ve forgotten something……

Thank you Jo and Miriam, and I hope the rest of your travels live up to your expectations.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 05 2013
Daniel Boon

http://www.plantzafrica.com/plantcd/cucumismet.htm ..

Of course no use to your Readers Mike, but it is alleged that the boiled root of Cucumis metuliferus is a very good gonorrhoea cure …

2 05 2013
mikestasse

where did you find THAT bit of trivia…….?

4 05 2013
kika

i used to live at crystal waters permaculture village and during my five years there i enjoyed the company and help of many WWOOFers. i met many interesting people and got lots and lots of help. its a great organization.

Leave a Reply

